top of page

Music is the Memory that Keeps on Living


When I think of my mom, there are so many sweet memories that play through my mind.

I think of a navy colored skirt suit she used to wear. I thought it was the coolest thing.

It had gold colored buttons and a white seam. I even drew a picture of her wearing that very outfit on a 4th grade place-mat.

I think of some of her favorite things. Mom loves strawberries. Her whole kitchen is full of all sorts of strawberry décor and colors. Even the strawberry flavor was seen in all her food selections. Let’s just say I was very happy when we bought grape jelly.

Her favorite flower is a lilac. We used to have a lovely lilac bush in our yard, but when we moved we had to leave it in our old yard. That favorite flower wore off on me too. I even made my room a lilac theme. It was gorgeous! I tried to even have a light green carpet, like you are walking into a flower. But mom nixed that one pretty fast. Good thing. She's so smart.

I think of her Old Country Rose dishes set. I remember the day my mom and dad went to pick out the pattern. I quickly approved the delicate pink and yellow rose dishes surrounded with a rim of thin gold. I used to love to open the cupboard and just look and them. And maybe a quick touch, or even pick them up. Holding them still in the cupboard or course

I could always count on mom to read her Bible at night. She would sit on her bed and always have it open when I came in to tell her goodnight. She showed me God’s love and led me in prayer as I asked Jesus to forgive my wickedness and make Him the Lord and Savior of my life.

One of my favorite memories though, is hearing mom play the piano. I loved the chords and little tunes she played. She is the reason I became interested in the piano. She was the reason I made sure to practice long and hard. And now it’s so exciting to see my daughter, who is only 19 months, become interested in the piano and beg to “play" the piano just about every day.

There will be many memories you pass down to your children. Music is the memory that keeps on living. Even though the one who played that song for you is no longer here, you can make that loved one awaken for just a moment as you listen or play their favorite song.

Give your children the memory of music.

**Don't forget to like Powell Music Studio on Facebook!

**Have questions? Check out our website for more information.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page