top of page

Join Your Church's Music Program


Well, a lot has changed since my last post. My little family has moved from Texas to Florida. Our daughter is now a year old! How fast that year went. My husband is the new assistant and music pastor at Truth Baptist Church in Jacksonville, FL. So many exciting things have happened at our church!

We had our first official choir performance at our Christmas program. We sang a new arrangement of Angels We Have Heard on High by Peter Anglea. Peter and I were in a few of the same classes at Bob Jones University. That’s pretty neat!

Our church has a small choir group of 8. I needed to record the piano accompaniment so I could also sing in the group. Recording a song is not easy, and I found it a bit stressful. Once you make some horrible mistakes you have to start all over again. But, with the Lord’s help, we finally captured a recording that was presentable. It was a blessing and honor to be part of the first choir program at Truth Baptist Church of Jacksonville.

We just started choir practice again after all the Christmas travelers returned home. Our next song is in about a month. Since we are small our goal is to have a song ready each month. We will be singing My Hope Is Jesus by Ron Hamilton arranged by Brian Buda (another person I went to BJU with!) We already have a group of faithful choir members. Now all we need to do is a bit more organizing with assigning folder numbers and filing new choir music.

I also had two of my piano students each play a song for our church Christmas program. One played Silent Night. I found the sheet music on-line for free. My other student played Angels We Have Heard on High. It was a blessing to see these young students participate in our church’s music program.

January is upon us. A fresh new year awaits you! Along with your New Year’s resolutions, please consider joining your church’s music program. Whether the church is large or small, your church music leader will be encouraged to have you join their program. Maybe you have other commitments, that’s okay. Plan for the next opportunity. Do what you can. Are you able to have special music ready every 2 months because of a busy schedule or sing in choir every other week because of work commitments? Just let your music director know. Communication is essential in the planning process.

Maybe you can’t play an instrument or sing. Now is the time to begin the music lessons you’ve always wanted! See if someone in your church is offering lessons. Or you could just jump into choir. What better way to learn how to sing, than to sit next to a strong leader?

Another option is to ask if the choir pianist needs a page turner or perhaps the director needs someone that is organized to file the music or keep a track of seating arrangements. Another big need is a nursery worker to watch the little ones while the parents are practicing. I cannot tell you how thankful I am for the lady that watches my little girl during choir practice. I don’t have to stop and check to see what my curious one year old is getting into, but can focus on the task at hand.

There are many ways to get involved in your church's music program. There is nothing more thrilling than worshipping and praising the Lord together in church as a family! This year find a way to to join your church’s music program!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page